The Foundation is run by the board, which is responsible for the Foundation's policy and other organizational matters that are necessary for the Foundation's performance.


The MH17 Disaster Foundation's board fully consists of surviving relatives, and is constituted as follows: 


Evert van Zijtveld President
Dennis Schouten Vice-president
Naomi Tamtelahitu Secretary
Roel Risah Treasurer
Piet Ploeg Board member







In addition, an advisory council has been installed. This council supports and provides the board with solicited and unsolicited advise, and consists of third party experts in all relevant areas.


The MH17 Disaster Foundation has a remuneration policy. Everyone works on a voluntary basis and thus does not receive commission, money, or compensation. Travel and/or other expenses that serve organizational duties are reimbursed.